72 hours later

Yesterday was my first day to “attempt” a workout after completing 2 Spartans in almost 12 hours.

20121114-065627.jpg

It has been my experience that the first 48-72 hours after some very physically demanding event that you REALLY feel the pain. This is more accurate for beginners or someone who doesn’t workout frequently. I have been cranking it out since 1994 and rarely get sore. However, this proved to be the exception.

20121114-070755.jpg

Here’s my current timeline and how my pain has progressed and lingered.

-Friday night 6:30-10:30. Thought I was going to fall over dead before I made it home. Had basically decided I would not run again the next morning.

-Saturday morning I felt much better than expected. I really overestimated my manliness at this point. I fooled myself into thinking running again was a good idea….WRONG!

-Sunday…..I really can barely remember Sunday. I left the house around one and ate a giant burger and then came straight back home.

20121114-071418.jpg

-Monday I still had a bit of a hitch in my giddy up. I was feeling slightly better but nowhere near ready to attempt a workout. By that evening, the flumonia that I had contracted while reenacting the “Leo drowning in the ocean” scene from Titanic was in full swing.

-Tuesday I had to go back to work. Other than the eboli virus that I was rocking, I felt ok. Still a little tired and sore but I was attributing that to the cold.

So, I decided to try a workout. Holy cow….I felt like a girlie man FO SHO. My shoulders hurt. I could barely bench press. My elbows hurt. Every exercise I tried hurt. I quickly finished a total body circuit and was going to just jog it out. HA!!!

I didn’t even know my legs were still sore until I started running. The front of my thighs felt like they were ripping with each step. I only made it about 0.6 miles and I quit. I just quit.

20121114-072732.jpg

At first I was real down on myself for stopping like I did. But I did SOMETHING. Which is more than most folks can say. It reminded me of an inspirational poster that I saw earlier that day:

20121114-072955.jpg

Leave a Reply

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

jennovafoodblog

Nutrition: a different outlook.

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Married With Twins

keeping God first, husband second, kids third, then everything else

Start With Your Pen

here for your words

Share With Us @ Clouds N Cups

We Sell Fashion Accessories N Nail Art Decor But There Is Always An Extra CHEERS To Share...Who Says Beauty Is Only Skin Deep?

All Seasons Cyclist

Real World Product Reviews For Avid Cyclists

voxifit

The Voice of Fitness Blog

ipledgeafallegiance

When will we ever learn?: Common sense and nonsense about today's public schools in America.

runnerssay

A topnotch Blog about running.

Bike War

Road biking eye candy. Vote for your favourite bikes!

Fit for 365

Year three, building consistency

wickedforeign

just pick up and go

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 296 other followers

